Bare

I have felt more bare in my faith these last few days than I have in a really long time. Bare in the self-conscious sense. Or maybe just conscious.

Aware that my faith is different from many of those around me. And yet, aware that Love and Goodness and Hope is available to all, regardless of creed or profession of faith.

I find the old stereotypes shouting up from within me, Aren’t you supposed to be judgmental, argumentative?

But I can’t see a reason to argue. I only see chances to connect. Opportunities to learn.

And yet something still tugs at me with a haunting sense that my faith must be broken if I don’t want to shove it down people’s throats.

But then I stop, step back. And remember that’s the faith I left. The rules and judgement and drawing lines in the sand. That’s not the God I know, the Love I follow.

And then I don’t mind so much feeling bare. Because I remember that we all bear the image of the Divine.

***

Five Minute Friday

This post is part of Lisa Jo Baker’s Five Minute Fridays. Every Friday, we turn off our inner critics and perfectionists and just write for five minutes straight. Zero editing. Just a stream of conscious free for all. And then we all link up and encourage each other. To learn more about Five Minute Friday and how you can participate click  here.

Tagged ,

4 thoughts on “Bare

  1. Jhona O. says:

    I have been struggling with my beliefs now and where they fit, if at all, with what I was raised to believe. Because of our lifestyle, we move every few years and have to find new churches. I have been exposed to so much and I am so grateful for it. I’ve been trying to whittle everything down to the bare bones of my faith. It’s simple to me, but when I try to place a religion with it I keep failing. I love that you only see chances to connect and opportunities to learn. I have had to shake of legalism and being judgmental. It’s so freeing! I really enjoyed visiting your post this morning and look forward to reading more from you.

  2. WesAnna says:

    Stay true to the love that you have for the Lord!

  3. What a beautiful thought. I agree with you, each of us does bare the Divine in our countenance.
    Cheers,
    Shanae
    DiSemblance Blog

Leave a Reply

